Minority Rights Advocate

Fighting for the smallest minority: The Individual

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 25 other followers

  • Topics

  • Old Posts

  • Top Posts

Is the Combined Federal Campaign a Threat to Liberty?

Posted by mrfixit on October 20, 2010

Ok, that may seem like a tough, maybe even an unfair question, but as one who has been a participant now for many years, and I frankly have lost count on the total charitable giving on my part, but I have always sought to designate such gifts.  Even when I first participated, some of the “charities” in the booklet were alarming to say the least, but I figured with the good, come the bad, so no cause for alarm, yet.

Here is what I recently encountered.  There are many events being organized, more it seems every year to raise funds for the “general fund”.  What does that mean?  Well, it means the undesignated gifts are spread around in proportion to the total amounts of gifts that WERE designated.  So the really out there charities that no one picks might be left out, one would hope anyway. 

However, with the growing federal workforce, now by far the largest in the nation, and much of not most of it being organized in unions, I’m left to have some real concern about undesignated giving.

Actually, I’ve come to question the concept of this system entirely.  This year I’ll pick my charities and send my support directly. As it turns out this saves about 8 cents for every dollar spent, since that is the average CFC overhead cost.

I’m all for charity, and based on the news reports about Vice President Biden’s charitable giving, I’m more charitable in total giving than he is (off the charts in percentage!), but I have a tiny fraction of his wealth, so I think I get it. 

< http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2010/apr/15/obamas-earned-55-million-2009b/>

< http://www.usatoday.com/news/politics/election2008/2008-09-12-biden-financial_N.htm>

What I think we all need to do is be ever more vigilant and informed on what we are funding, and in this case the mechanism used to effect that funding.

Establishing the largest charitable giving operation, via the largest workforce, then setting the ground rules for participation, well that is a lot of power, and it seems the government has enough, actually too much, so for my small part, I’m taking initiative to give directly, taking my tiny piece of power back. 

Some of the groups getting money that are on the bad list:

Planned Parenthood Foundation

National Gay and Lesbian Task Force Foundation

American Constitution Society for Law and Policy

Jobs with Justice Education Fund

I’d bet there are hundreds, if not a thousand similar groups under the CFC, I found these four after looking for a few minutes.  The site below includes the search feature for charities, feel free to search and add to the list!

 http://gopcfc.org/_root/index.php?content_id=1

Leave a Reply

 
